The Full Circle Weekly News

A short podcast with just the news. No chit-chat. No time wasting. Just the latest FOSS/Linux/Ubuntu news.


By Ronnie Tucker

https://fullcirclemagazine.org/

Subscribe

Full Circle Weekly News #173

June 02, 2020

March Update on Pinebook Pro https://www.pine64.org/2020/03/15/march-update-manjaro-on-pinebook-pro-pinephone-software/ GitHub to Acquire NPM https://www.itprotoday.com/devops-and-software-development/github-acquire-npm-javascript-package-manager Shortwa

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #172

May 23, 2020

Debian Leader Says “One Year Will Do” https://www.itwire.com/open-source/debian-leader-hartman-says-one-year-at-the-helm-will-do-for-now.html Debian 8 Adds Longer Support https://raphaelhertzog.com/2020/03/11/keeping-debian-8-jessie-alive-for

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #171

May 15, 2020

Let’s Encrypt Moves Forward with the CAA Rechecking Bug https://community.letsencrypt.org/t/2020-02-29-caa-rechecking-bug/114591/2 Project Sandcastle runs Android on iPhone 7 https://www.xda-developers.com/install-android-10-apple-iphone-7-plus-pro

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #170

May 07, 2020

The Structure and Administration of the GNU Project Announced https://www.gnu.org/gnu/gnu-structure.html CTO calls for patience after devs complain promised donations platform has stalled https://www.theregister.co.uk/2020/02/22/npm_funding_source/ Arch

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #169

April 29, 2020

Linux Foundation’s Core Infrastructure Initiative Releases Census II Analysis https://www.zdnet.com/article/the-linux-foundation-identifies-the-most-important-open-source-software-components-and-their-problems/ Refreshed GTK Website Goes Live https

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #168

April 19, 2020

Ubuntu 18.04.4 Released with Updated Kernel 5.3 https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/ubuntu-18-04-4-lts-released Devs Push for Unicode 13 Support in Ubuntu 20.04 LTS https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/unicode-13-in-ubuntu-20-04 Perens Versus Open Source

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #167

April 11, 2020

EOL of CoreOS Linux https://coreos.com/os/eol/ Kernel 5.4 Marked as LTS https://9to5linux.com/linux-kernel-5-4-is-now-an-official-lts-release-supported-until-2022 Ubuntu 20.04 Will Ship with the 5.4 LTS Kernel https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/ubuntu-2

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #166

March 29, 2020

Thunderbird Ownership Transferred to MZLA https://blog.thunderbird.net/2020/01/thunderbirds-new-home/ ND2H Wi-Fi Adapter Is Now FSF Certified https://www.fsf.org/news/libiquity-wi-fri-nd2h-wi-fi-card-now-fsf-certified-to-respect-your-freedom Nvidia Dropp

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #165

March 18, 2020

Kubuntu Focus Laptop to Ship in Early February https://www.zdnet.com/article/kubuntu-focus-a-new-top-of-the-line-linux-laptop-arrives/ ProtonVPN Open Sources All of Its Apps https://protonvpn.com/blog/open-source/ Wine 5.0 Released https://www.winehq.org

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #164

February 19, 2020

Zorin Announces Zorin Grid https://zoringroup.com/blog/2020/01/16/introducing-zorin-grid-manage-all-of-your-organizations-computers-as-easily-as-one/ Xfce 4.16 Getting a Major UI Change https://simon.shimmerproject.org/2020/01/14/xfce-4-14-maintenance-an

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #163

February 12, 2020

Kali Defaults to a Non-Root User https://www.kali.org/news/kali-default-non-root-user/ VVVVVV Now Open Source https://github.com/TerryCavanagh/VVVVVV/blob/master/LICENSE.md An All New Firefox 72 https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/72.0/releasenotes/ Li

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #162

January 29, 2020

Arch Linux Now Using ZStandard Instead of XZ for Compression https://www.archlinux.org/news/now-using-zstandard-instead-of-xz-for-package-compression/ EA Is Permanently Banning Linux Gamers in Battlefield V https://itsfoss.com/ea-banning-linux-gamers/ Op

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #161

January 08, 2020

DXVK 1.5 Released https://github.com/doitsujin/dxvk/releases/tag/v1.5 Calculate Linux 20 Released https://forum.calculate-linux.org/t/calculate-linux-20/9805 Purism Announces the Librem Server https://puri.sm/products/librem-server/ Linux Mint 19.3 Cinna

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #160

December 29, 2019

Zorin OS 15.1 is Released https://zoringroup.com/blog/2019/12/12/zorin-os-15-1-is-released-a-better-way-to-work-learn-and-play/ Firefox 71 is Now Available for All Supported Ubuntu Releases https://news.softpedia.com/news/mozilla-firefox-71-is-now-availa

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #159

December 26, 2019

elementaryOS 5.1 Hera Released https://blog.elementary.io/introducing-elementary-os-5-1-hera/ Linux Mint 19.3 Beta Available https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3816 Debian 11 “Bullseye” Alpha 1 Released https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-announ

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #158

December 22, 2019

Gnome 3.35.2 Available for Testing https://news.softpedia.com/news/gnome-3-36-desktop-environment-development-continues-with-the-second-snapshot-528304.shtml Cumulus Networks Unveils Its 4th-Generation of Modern Network Software https://cumulusnetworks.c

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #157

December 17, 2019

Updated Debian 10: 10.2 released https://www.debian.org/News/2019/20191116 Zorin OS 15 Lite is Here https://zoringroup.com/blog/2019/11/20/zorin-os-15-lite-is-here-breathe-new-life-into-your-old-computers/ IPFire 2.23, Core Update 137 released https://bl

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #156

December 03, 2019

Linux Will Get Microsoft Defender ATP Antivirus https://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-defender-atp-is-coming-to-linux-in-2020/ Ubuntu 20.04 and Debian 11 Progress on Python 2 Removal https://news.softpedia.com/news/ubuntu-20-04-lts-and-debian-gnu-linux

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #155

November 26, 2019

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.1 Officially Released https://www.redhat.com/en/about/press-releases/red-hat-ups-iq-intelligent-operating-system-latest-release-red-hat-enterprise-linux-8 SparkyLinux’s November ISO Brings Debian “Bullseye” Up

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #154

November 19, 2019

PHP Remote Code Execution Flaw Actively Exploited Against NGINX Servers https://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/us/security/news/vulnerabilities-and-exploits/php-fpm-vulnerability-cve-2019-11043-can-lead-to-remote-code-execution-in-nginx-web-servers Fedora 31 R

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #153

November 12, 2019

GNOME Files Defense Against Patent Troll https://www.gnome.org/news/2019/10/gnome-files-defense-against-patent-troll/ The Debian Project stands with the GNOME Foundation https://bits.debian.org/2019/10/gnome-foundation-defense-patent-troll.html Vote on o

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #152

November 06, 2019

Project Trident Ditches BSD for Linux https://itsfoss.com/bsd-project-trident-linux/ Zabbix 4.4 released https://www.zabbix.com/whats_new_4_4 Hyperbola GNU / Linux-libre releases “Milky Way” v0.3 https://www.hyperbola.info/news/milky-way-v03-

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #151

October 29, 2019

New Android Zero-Day Vulnerability Found https://fossbytes.com/new-android-zero-day-vulnerability-found-vulnerable-devices/ Docker Has Financial Problems https://www.linux-magazin.de/news/bericht-docker-hat-finanzprobleme SparkyLinux 5.9 Released https:/

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #150

October 22, 2019

Linux Mint Debian Edition 4 to be Dubbed Debbie https://news.softpedia.com/news/linux-mint-debian-edition-4-to-be-dubbed-debbie-new-linux-mint-logo-unveiled-527651.shtml   The New Nextcloud 17 Brings Remote Wipe https://nextcloud.com/press/pr20190930/  

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #149

October 15, 2019

Oracle Autonomous Linux Is The World’s First Autonomous OS https://www.oracle.com/corporate/pressrelease/oow19-oracle-autonomous-linux-091619.html Linux Kernel 5.3 Gets First Point Release https://news.softpedia.com/news/linux-kernel-5-3-gets-first

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #148

October 08, 2019

Huawei Linux Laptops Running Deepin Linux Now Available https://fossbytes.com/huawei-linux-laptops-running-deepin-distro/ PineTime, a Smartwatch Companion for Linux Smartphones https://liliputing.com/2019/09/pinetime-is-a-25-smartwatch-companion-for-linu

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #147

October 01, 2019

Thousands Of Linux Servers Infected By Lilu (Lilocked) Ransomware https://www.zdnet.com/article/thousands-of-servers-infected-with-new-lilocked-lilu-ransomware/ Microsoft Teams is coming to Linux https://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-teams-for-linux-cl

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #146

September 24, 2019

Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS Makes It Easier to Patch the Linux Kernel without Rebooting https://news.softpedia.com/news/ubuntu-18-04-3-lts-makes-it-easier-to-patch-the-linux-kernel-without-rebooting-527132.shtml GNOME Wants to Make Linux Firmware Updates Easier t

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #145

September 11, 2019

Knoppix 8.6 is Now Based on Debian 10 “Buster” https://news.softpedia.com/news/knoppix-live-gnu-linux-system-is-now-based-on-debian-gnu-lin ux-10-buster-527047.shtml   System76 Unveils Graphical Firmware Updater for All Debian-Based Linux Distros https:/

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #144

September 11, 2019

Default Ubuntu Yaru Theme Rebased on Adwaita 3.32 https://www.linuxuprising.com/2019/08/default-ubuntu-yaru-theme-rebased-on.html Announcing the EPEL 8.0 Official Release http://smoogespace.blogspot.com/2019/08/announcing-epel-80-official-release.html Mo

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #143

August 19, 2019

Linux Journal Ceases Publication: An Awkward Goodbye https://www.linuxjournal.com/content/linux-journal-ceases-publication-awkward-goodbye SparkyLinux Gets New Development Cycle Based on Debian 11 https://news.softpedia.com/news/sparkylinux-gets-new-deve

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #142

August 12, 2019

KDE Plasma 5.17 Desktop to Modernize the Settings and Add Many UI Changes https://news.softpedia.com/news/kde-plasma-5-17-linux-desktop-to-modernize-the-settings-add-many-ui-changes-526856.shtml Debconf20 Takes Place August 23-29 https://news.softpedia.c

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #141

July 30, 2019

Mozilla Firefox Could Soon Get a “Tor mode” Add-on https://news.softpedia.com/news/mozilla-firefox-could-soon-get-a-tor-mode-add-on-526774.shtml Critical Flaw in VLC Media Player Discovered by German Cybersecurity Agency https://news.softpedia.com/news/c

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #140

July 22, 2019

GNU Linux-Libre 5.2 Kernel Released https://news.softpedia.com/news/gnu-linux-libre-5-2-kernel-released-for-those-seeking-100-freedom-for-their-pcs-526671.shtml Tails 3.15 Fixes Critical Bugs https://tails.boum.org/news/version_3.15/index.en.html Mozilla

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #139

July 15, 2019

System 76’s Linux-powered Thelio desktop now available with 3rd gen AMD Ryzen Processors https://betanews.com/2019/07/07/system76-linux-thelio-amd-ryzen3/ PyOxidizer Can Turn Python Code Into Apps for Windows, MacOS, Linux https://fossbytes.com/pyoxidize

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #138

July 08, 2019

Correction The Raspberry Pi 4B ships with two micro HDMI, not mini, as was stated in the previous episode. Purism’s Security Key Will Generate Keys Directly on the Device, Made in the USA https://news.softpedia.com/news/purism-s-security-key-will-generat

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #137

July 02, 2019

Raspberry Pi 4 On Sale Now from $35 https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/raspberry-pi-4-on-sale-now-from-35/ LibreELEC 9.2 ALPHA1 [Ships] with Raspberry Pi 4B Support https://libreelec.tv/2019/06/libreelec-9-2-alpha1-rpi4b/ Ubuntu Decides to Keep Supporting

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #136

June 24, 2019

OpenMandriva Lx 4.0 is here https://betanews.com/2019/06/16/openmandriva-lx4-linux-amd/ KDE Plasma 5.16 Gets First Point Release https://news.softpedia.com/news/kde-plasma-5-16-desktop-environment-gets-first-point-release-update-now-526455.shtml Canonica

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #135

June 17, 2019

Linux Command Line Editors Vulnerable to High Severity Bug https://threatpost.com/linux-command-line-editors-high-severity-bug/145569/ KDE 5.16 Is Now Available for Kubuntu https://news.softpedia.com/news/kde-plasma-5-16-desktop-is-now-available-for-kubu

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #134

June 10, 2019

Mageia 7 Linux distribution reaches release candidate (RC) status https://betanews.com/2019/06/02/mageia-7-linux-rc-download/ Zorin OS 15 Officially Released https://news.softpedia.com/news/zorin-os-15-linux-distro-officially-released-based-on-ubuntu-18-

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #133

June 03, 2019

GParted Reaches 1.0 https://news.softpedia.com/news/gparted-open-source-partition-editor-reaches-1-0-milestone-after-almost-15-years-526221.shtml Krita 4.2 Released https://www.linuxuprising.com/2019/05/free-raster-graphics-editor-krita-420.html Unity Ed

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #132

May 27, 2019

GCC Switching to Git Is Approaching https://www.pro-linux.de/news/1/27071/gcc-umstieg-auf-git-kommt-n%C3%83%C2%A4her.html Google Suspends Huawei’s Android Support https://www.engadget.com/2019/05/19/google-pulls-android-support-from-huawei/ Security Rese

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #131

May 20, 2019

Linux Kernel Prior to 5.0.8 Vulnerable to Remote Code Execution https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/linux-kernel-prior-to-508-vulnerable-to-remote-code-execution/ WhatsApp Vulnerability Allows Hackers to Infect iPhones, Android Phones https://

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #130

May 13, 2019

Linux Kernel 5.1 Released With Lots Of New Features https://fossbytes.com/linux-5-1-kernel-features-download-linus/ GNU Linux-libre 5.1 Released https://www.pro-linux.de/news/1/27036/gnu-linux-libre-51-freigegeben.html Mozilla Issues New Update to Fix Ad

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #129

May 06, 2019

Docker Hub Breached, Impacting 190,000 Accounts https://www.eweek.com/security/docker-hub-breached-impacting-190-000-accounts Fedora 30 Released https://news.softpedia.com/news/fedora-30-released-with-gnome-3-32-and-linux-kernel-5-0-here-s-what-s-new-525

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #128

April 29, 2019

Ubuntu 14.04 Reaches End of Life on April 30 https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2019/04/ubuntu-14-04-end-of-life Ubuntu 19.04 comes refreshed with the Linux 5.0 kernel https://www.zdnet.com/article/ubuntu-19-04-comes-refreshed-with-the-linux-5-0-kernel/ Ubuntu

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #127

April 22, 2019

First episode with new host Leo Chavez First Arch Linux ISO Snapshot Powered by Linux Kernel 5.0 Is Here https://news.softpedia.com/news/first-arch-linux-iso-snapshot-powered-by-linux-kernel-5-0-is-here-525604.shtml   MX Linux 18.2 is here — downlo

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #126

April 02, 2019

Zorin OS 15 Enters Beta with Flatpak Support, Based on Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS Source: https://news.softpedia.com/news/zorin-os-15-enters-beta-with-flatpak-support-based-on-ubuntu-18-04-2-lts-525373.shtml Solus 4 “Fortitude” Officially Released, I

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #125

March 21, 2019

ExTix 19.3 Linux Distro Released With Kernel 5.0, Kodi 18.2, And Xfce 4.13 Source: https://fossbytes.com/extix-19-3-linux-released-features-download/ Ubuntu 14.04.6 Trusty Tahr Released With High-impact APT Bug Fix Source: https://fossbytes.com/ubuntu-14

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #124

March 16, 2019

Canonical Preps Emergency Point Releases for Ubuntu 16.04 LTS & Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Source: https://news.softpedia.com/news/canonical-preps-emergency-point-releases-for-ubuntu-16-04-lts-ubuntu-14-04-lts-525081.shtml ONLYOFFICE Announces Blockchain-Based

Download